Some Days Are Just Hard

So this evening I went to a dinner with 3 families. Food and company was great, but they all had kids and partners, and I was the only one there who is alone.

Top that off with 6 friends giving birth to gorgeous babies in the last 3 weeks…and it’s been an emotionally tough day.

After the dinner I came home to a very silent house…which for some reason was harder than usual. I think because I’d just been around all those people talking about kids, breastfeeding, making lunches etc, and although I smile and nod I just really don’t have anything to contribute to these ‘kids and husband’ conversations.

The older I get, the less friends I have who are in the same life stage as myself. So I am very grateful to those of you who understand this bizarre state of life where I am suppose to be happy and content with my ‘gift of singleness’, yet not hope too much that things might change in case of severe disappointment when they never do.

I’m sure I just need a good sleep and a new morning to be reminded that I am exactly where I’m suppose to be. Just having a brief rut…which hasn’t happened for awhile, so I guess I’m doing ok!

I’m sure once my Facebook feed also lightens up a bit after the huge amount of birth announcements, and I’ve seen all those beautiful babies for the first time, I’ll be able to work my way back to contentment, rather than envy. But I think envy is a post for another day!

 

Leave a Reply

