God’s Timing is Better Than We Can Ever Imagine

If I had a dollar for every time I said “I’m definitely going to be single forever” I’d be a pretty rich person.

But through a phenomenally crazy series of events, I’m not single anymore.

WHAT?? I hear you saying. There are still great guys around in their 30s who are available to date??! Can you believe it??!!! It so crazy, but at the same time feels so comfortable and normal.

Which also leads me to confess that I’m ashamed that I doubted God with my singleness. I honestly doubted that I would ever meet someone that was a good match for me. I didn’t think that it was possible for me to get along SO well with one person and that I would want to be around them all the time. But not only that…I doubted that anyone would want to spend that much time with me. I guess I potentially didn’t understand how big God is that he can bring two people together at the right time.

It blows my mind. It’s crazy.

I have truly found my best friend.

If we had of met in our 20s, it wouldn’t have worked. I am different now to who I was when I was say 23, in that I have more confidence in myself, and more confidence to speak my mind. Although I had a faith back then, I can see that my relationship with God is a lot stronger now than it was then. All the things that he says he admires in me has taken time to develop…things that I had to develop before we met, so that we can continue to develop different aspects from this point forward, together.

He has also said that he was very different in his 20s and probably wouldn’t have been interested in me then either.

Don’t get me wrong, I am definitely not saying “when you stop looking then you’ll find someone…” HORRIBLE advice, haha! Because even though I was adamant there wasn’t someone for me, I was still looking…just in case. And I can see that every other guy throughout the years who I thought I was interested in, doesn’t even compare to the connection I have now.

I guess I actually cannot believe what I found.

I know the Bible doesn’t promise that everyone will meet someone. I think some of my previous certainty of thinking I’d be single forever was to protect myself…by claiming that I was simply focusing on the promises that are in the Bible.

Disappointment and unmet expectations are tough to deal with.

When we so desperately want something or some experience to be part of our lives, it’s hard to acknowledge that it could ever be a possibility. If I could go back and talk to myself last year, I would let myself have a little bit more hope. Who am I to think I know better than God?!

In my opinion, the timing of when we met was perfect. Looking back on my 20s I see lots of times when God protected me, as well as challenged me, for this different season of my life.

So stay tuned… I will be posting a guest post in a few days from his point of view of our story over the last few months!!

 

 

2 thoughts on “God’s Timing is Better Than We Can Ever Imagine

Leave a Reply

